Culture > Et Cetera

10 presidential cars get immortalized on new Philippine postage stamps

From Aguinaldo’s Packard down to Macapagal-Arroyo’s Mercedes-Benz

Emilio Aguinaldo’s 1924 Packard is one of 10 presidential cars featured on the new postage stamps. IMAGE FROM PHILIPPINE POSTAL CORPORATION

The Philippine Postal Corporation is issuing commemorative postage stamps featuring the automobiles of 10 Philippine presidents, including Emilio Aguinaldo, Manuel Quezon, Jose Laurel, Elpidio Quirino, Ramon Magsaysay, Ferdinand Marcos, Corazon Aquino, Fidel Ramos, Joseph Ejercito Estrada and Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo. No, both Benigno Aquino III and Rodrigo Duterte aren’t included, which is probably for the best.

These stamps—of which 8,000 copies will be printed in sheetlet form—will be officially presented at the “History Con 2018” event on August 10 at World Trade Center in Pasay City. Each stamp carries a denomination of P12. This project was apparently made possible with the help of the National Historical Commission of the Philippines.

Below are the nine other stamps. Get them when they become available—we bet they’ll be hot items for collectors.


Vernon B. Sarne

Vernon is the founder and editor-in-chief of VISOR. He has been an automotive journalist for 26 years. He became one by serendipity, walking into the office of a small publishing company and applying for a position he had no idea was for a local car magazine. God has watched over him throughout his humble journey. He writes the ‘Spoiler’ column.